PEOPLE – chamber music for a wind quintet, to dance to (2010)

PEOPLE (2010) – a terpsichorean chamber music piece for a wind quintet

Five musicians and a dancer are preparing to perform a musical piece in four parts. The four parts reflect on the different stages of life. What happens in the beginning and during the pauses of a musical piece?  The musicians enter, tune their instruments, warm up the mouthpieces, blow, breathe and collect their thoughts before the performance begins. The audience waits. The musicians wait. But for what?

PEOPLE fills these vacant moments with action and movement. It can be interpreted as a description of everyday life, or the description of the personal feelings and the work of an artist. We see the people behind the instruments; as personalities that share the fates of life.

Composer: Ralf Nyqvist
Choreographer and dancer: Mia Malviniemi
Eva Hillebrandt – flute
Panu Sivonen – oboe/ English horn
John Alén – clarinet
Samuli Pataila – fagotto
Vesa Ania – French horn

Production: Watt ry, Vaasa City Orchestra and Wasa Teater